The first SC Farense Walking Football Cup was held at the Clube Desportivo Montenegro near Faro on July 24th, 2022.

In sweltering conditions, East Algarve Walking Football (EAWF) entered two teams in the over 50s category, where they were joined by two teams from SC Farense, and one team in the over 60s, where they were joined by SC Farense and Odiaxere WF from the west Algarve.

Over 50s

The over 50s was a round robin event with the top two then meeting in the final. SC Farense A started strongly with a comfortable 2-0 victory over EAWF Tavira in the opening game. EAWF Olhão then opened their account with a 1-0 victory over SC Farense B, with the winning goal from Toby after a great team move. EAWF Olhão then played again immediately and were held to a 0-0 stalemate by a determined SC Farense A side.

In the following match, EAWF Tavira narrowly lost to SC Farense B by 1-0. The match between the two SC Farense teams saw the A team beat the B team by a solitary goal. This left the final match with no significance, with EAWF Olhão beating EAWF Tavira 1-0 thanks to a goal from yours truly.

The final tables was thus:

1SC Farense A32103037
2EAWF Olhão32102027
3SC Farense B310212-13
4EAWF Tavira303004-40

In the 3rd place play-off match SC Farense B beat EAWF Tavira 2-0 to confine Tavira to last place. In the final, EAWF Olhão scored early on through Julio Rito and then controlled the game to keep SC Farense A at bay, winning the tournament by the single goal.

Toby collecting the tournament trophy on behalf of EAWF Olhão over 50s

Over 60s

It was their superior goal-scoring record against Odiaxere that saw EAWF Olhão claim the 60+ crown.

Two draws against SC Farense, 1-1 in the first meeting with Shane Theophilus equalising an early Farense strike and the second a tense 0-0 result, meant the tournament would be decided over the performances against Odiaxere.

Paul Burn, Shane and Michael Coleman gave them a comfortable win in the first game against Odiaxere, and another from Shane wrapped up a 1-0 victory in the second encounter. SC Farense beat Odiaxere 2-0 in their first game and 1-0 in the second meeting, meaning the 0-0 draw for Olhão against Farense in the final game kept them top on goal difference.

The final table was thus:

1EAWF Olhão42205148
2SC Farense42204138

Mick Coleman with the over 60s trophy

Many thanks to SC Farense for a great tournament, the two referees Ivo and Nuno Jesus, the Clube Desportivo Montenegro for their hospitality, and all the other contributors on the day. A pity there were only three clubs represented, but ultimately a great result for EAWF winning both age categories.

EAWF Olhão over 60s squad (black shirts) with Odiaxere.

EAWF Tavira over 50s squad (yellow shirts) with SC Farense

EAWF Olhão over 50s squad (in green and black shirts) pictured with SC Farense

Some links:

Thanks to Paul Burn, Stuart Meakin and Steve Johnson for help with the report, and Steve Johnson for the photos below: